>Dinky Dresser Do-Over

>

Snagged this little guy at an estate sale for $20 last weekend!
It doesn’t have a great first impression, does it? 
 
I thought the size and shape of it was awesome. 
I can see why it only cost $20 though. šŸ™‚
 
 To start its makeover, I gave it a major sanding. I should have taken off the handles before that but I was kind of in a rush and sanded around them.
 
I swung by Lowes and picked up two samples of a green paint I liked. (Sorry, didn’t write down the name of the color). This was MORE than enough for two coats. AND they are only around $2.50 each!
 
 Here’s my little beauty after one coat of paint.
 
After another coat and letting it dry for a few hours, I used my good ol’ glazing technique. I explained it in my $8.00 chair makeover if you want more explanation.
 
 Basically, I wiped on the glaze, let it settle into all the nooks and crannies and then wiped off all the extra I didn’t want on the piece of furniture.
See how those cracks are accented a bit more now? I’m a big fan of glazing furniture with character.  
 Since the dresser already had tons of, shall we call it, “character” I decided not to fight it and just go with it. With that in mind, I sanded down the edges to give it a worn/aged look.
 
 Another creative touch I did to this piece was add fabric drawer liners. This was super easy. 
I measured out the bottom of each drawer. I then cut 5 pieces of this fabric and simply adhered to the bottom of the drawer using this spray adhesive. 
  
It was SO much easier than Mod Podging. I wish I would have done it with our changing table
 As you can see, by this point I had put the knobs back on.
I had planned on getting new knobs but since I was going with a worn/aged look I realized that the original ones looked great on it. (And they were free!)
 It goes perfectly by our front door AND has storage for all of our winter gear that has been previously shoved in the closet.
16 thoughts on “>Dinky Dresser Do-Over

  1. >Wow, what a makeover. I am hosting a blog party that opens tonight at 8pm EST. I hope you will stop by and link up this post. The dresser really looks amazing.

  2. >Oh my gosh – it looks fabulous! Seriously… I SO have this intense urge to go find a piece of furniture and refinish it, now. you've created the itch that I can't fulfill until we get a larger home with a garage. UGH! Who KNOWS when that will be!I had finally accepted this, and now your awesomeness is rubbing off on me. Stink! šŸ˜›

  3. >Wow! Seriously so cute! I want to try this baaaaad! Right now we're in a teeny weeny apartment and couldn't fit anymore furniture, but someday! Thanks for sharing.Brittanybrittandbradeinreallife.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

