>Week 25 Update

>

Week 25
Adelyn is the size of an eggplant
Well, hello my little eggplant. Glad the most recent ultrasound shows you are growing just like you should be!
I’m kind of in that stage where it feels like I’ve been pregnant forever and it feels like it’s still going to be forever until we actually have Adelyn with us. If it weren’t for the increasing kicks, I’d be a little bored with being pregnant. Is that bad? There just isn’t much to do right now except for wait. 
Here’s the rundown on the past few weeks:
Maternity Clothes? Thanks to good friends, Rachel and Jen, my maternity wardrobe had tripled. They graciously are letting me borrow some of their maternity clothes. It’s nice to have options again. 
Stretch Marks? Nada. Unless you count stretching marks on my clothing.
Sleep? Eh. Not bad but not great. I have good nights and then bad nights. Last night was a bad night. In the middle of the night I woke up to a horrible leg cramp. My intense, “Owe owe owe owe owe” scared Austin half to death.
Movement? Oh ya. I can pretty much tell which way she is positioned depending on which rib she is attempting to dislodge. We’ve also hit the stage where we can feel her from the outside. She kind of plays Hide and Go Seek with us though. She’ll be kicking away at one spot and the second I have Austin try to feel it, she’ll stop. Little rascal. 
I’ve also learned that talking about the baby kicking weirds some people out- particularly high school girls. At lunch the other day I mentioned that the baby was kicking (as we were eating) and one girl looked at my like I had three heads. I’ll have to be a bit more discerning who to share certain details with. Haha.
Mood Swings? Yes. Not so much the uncontrollable weeping associated with pregnant women. Just more of a irritability/crankiness. I feel like I’ve been more short with people- particularly Austin. We had to have some -ahem-marital reconciliation last night because “the ‘tude” I’ve recently been getting. Those conversations are never fun especially when you know you are the culprit.
I also have found myself worrying a lot more than I usually do. I just get fixated on something and get super stressed about it and totally lose perspective. For example, last week I was in tears because I was convinced our dog Sophie had cancer and was going to die. Sounds laughable now but any pregnant/hormonal woman can relate to how convincing emotions can be.
Cravings? Lately soda has sounded really good. I don’t really drink soda- especially since I got pregnant but anytime I see someone with one I just want it! My aversion to minty flavored gum had grown stronger. I can hardly be in the car or in a small space with someone who had gum in. It’s weird.
Gender? Confirmed again at our most recent ultrasound. Girl.
Labor Signs? Nope. Labor is something I have been thinking about a bit more. At our last appointment I talked to my doctor more about two vessel cord babies and their deliveries. She told me she was pretty sure I wouldn’t go past my due date. Most likely one or two weeks early. I don’t mind that at all!
Belly Button? Looks the same to me.
What I Miss? My normal jeans.
What I’m Looking Forward To? Lots of stuff. I have a baby shower coming up in a month. My besties will be in town staying with me that weekend so I’m pretty excited about that. Also- my mom scored a baby jogger on Craig’s List!! It was originally sold new at $350 and she got it for $75. Boom!
What I’m nervous about? Not being able to fit back into my old clothes. Breast feeding. Sleep deprivation. Going from two salaries to one. Am I preparing enough? Etc. Etc. Etc. I told you, I’m a nervous person right now.
Weekly Wisdom? I’ve been clinging to a few verses lately.  
“Lead me to the rock that is higher than I…” Psalm 61:2
“For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly. Psalm 84:11
“O LORD, my heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me. But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me.” Psalm 131:1-2
Milestones: I’ve been noticing that Adelyn responds to noises. Particularly when the dogs bark really close to me or if I play music right by my stomach.

One thought on “>Week 25 Update

Leave a Reply

