>The Joys of Craig’s List

>

 I have a strong Love/Hate relationship with Craig’s List.
Love it for obvious reasons: great deals, local, unique finds, etc. Hate it for mainly one reason: Unreliable people. I think the anonymity of buying and selling on Craigs List makes people flake out more on their commitments. I’m always a little leery of  my business dealings but the lure of a good deal always brings me back to browse. 
Lately, I’ve been a stalker of the Baby & Kids section. What I discovered is that there is an abundance of baby swings selling for around $20. I was registered for a baby swing at Target that costs around $130. Wowza. I couldn’t bring myself to allow my family and friend to pool together $130+ for a swing that I could very easily get for $20.  So I’ve been on the hunt for a baby swing. And boy did I hunt…

See all the links in purple? Those are ones that I clicked on at one point or another. Yikes. That’s embarrassing. Anyway…

I’d emailed a few people here and there trying to nail down a good deal. I eventually landed on one that I liked.  Pretty new, $20, good ratings, etc. After some emailing, we arranged a time to meet.

I met up with her at the Home Depot parking lot. She seemed very sweet, had two kids with her (one who had gotten car sick on the way making her 20 minutes late to our rendezvous). Poor lady.

Anyway, after emphatically apologizing for her tardiness, she pops open her truck and pulls out the swing. However, it isn’t the swing in the picture. It was entirely different and a bit older looking. I was totally caught off guard and racking my brain to figure out what to do.

I assumed that amidst my wheeling and dealings I had mistakenly contacted the wrong person about the swing I had really wanted.  I assumed that the error was on my end and that I had replied to her Craigs List ad accidentally. I chalked it up as another Pregnancy Brain mistake.

I didn’t have the heart to say that I made a mistake and didn’t want it. I mean this woman had driven 30 minutes with a carsick kid to meet me. She really didn’t seem like someone who would hussle me either. So, I bought the swing. The swing I didn’t really want but didn’t have the guts to say no to. Ugh. Here’s a picture of it. It’s not horrible. It’s just a lot older and has a lot more wear and tear.

Well THEN, I got home and hopped on my computer to figure out where I had mixed up my communication. Turns out, I WASN’T wrong! The picture that she had posted was in fact NOT the swing that she brought. WHAT?! How did this happen?

And you know what, right now I don’t have any answers. I am waiting for a response to my email I sent her sheepishly explaining that I didn’t say anything about the wrong swing she had sold me. The dilemma is: Is it my fault that I bought the swing I didn’t want or is it her fault that she sold me a different swing than advertised. When I word it like that, it’s probably more my fault. Ugh.

So now I have a swing that I’m not super crazy about that I’ll probably end up selling on Craigs List, encountering flaky people who say they want it but will never follow through with actually buying it.

The Joys of Craig’s List

One thought on “>The Joys of Craig’s List

  1. >Ugh!! I'd say it was her fault, up until you took it. But still wansn't quite your fault even then…You should post a pic of it so we can see how different it is. and PS: I HATE how people hussle on craigslist!! Because now my husband trusts NO one on that site. Grr.

Leave a Reply

