>DIY Window Cornice/Valence

>

The nursery is progressing at a slow and steady pace. Just yesterday, I finished up these window cornices for the little one’s room. Isn’t the fabric fabulous! It was 40% off at JoAnns!
 These are super cheap and easy to make. AND it doesn’t involve any sewing.
Do I have your attention??
Continue on if you’re interested in how to make these bad boys.
I had this left over insulation board from a few months back when I insulated our crawlspace holes. I think it’s around $10 at Lowes. One piece is more than enough for two windows. (The piece below has already been cut in half)
 I measured out my window and then drew out my measurements on the board I was going to cut.
My window width was 42 inches. I added 1.5 inches to each side make the cornice wider than the window. Here’s how all my measurements turned out:
1 piece 13×45 inches
1 piece 2×45 inches
2 pieces 2×13 inches
I started by hot-gluing the pieces together. I then realized that duct tape was a much faster and just as efficient.

 Here’s a shot of the cornice all duct taped together.
 I laid out some batting over the cornice. (You can find batting for pretty cheap at almost any fabric store). I didn’t do any exact measurements for this part- I simply eye balled it and cut the batting to where there was enough extra to wrap around to the back of the piece.
I did the same thing with the fabric. With the batting underneath the fabric, I got my staplegun out and went to work. Make sure to pull the fabric firm-not too tight. Then staple all around the edges to secure the batting and the fabric. I started with the top and bottom and left the sides for last.
 I discovered that the fabric wrapped around the ends better if I cut an opening for the sides.
 I just wrapped the ends like a present and stapled them in place.
 To hang these bad boys, I picked up a packet of “L brackets” and secured one to each side of the window.
 I then slipped my upholstered cornice on. Viola!

Sure beats buying expensive nursery curtains!

5 thoughts on “>DIY Window Cornice/Valence

  1. >Thanks for the step by step toutorial! I am a visual person and the pictures really help me. I want to make a cornice board for a window in my office, now I'm ready.:o)Fondly,Ann@The Tattered Tassel

Leave a Reply

