>"Pregnancy Brain"

>Before I tell you about my morning, I just want to share the following information from www.whattoexpect.com

Forgetfulness During Pregnancy: “Pregnancy Brain”

What it is: Pregnancy-induced brain fog, a true (and truly frustrating) hallmark of pregnancy. You may forget appointments, what you just walked into the store for, where you left your purse, whether you turned off the stove β€” and maybe, your phone number.
 
What causes forgetfulness during pregnancy: As usual in pregnancy, it’s just your hormones having some fun, this time at the expense of your memory. And believe it or not, your brain-cell volume actually decreases during the third trimester of pregnancy (which could explain why you can’t remember what you just read about in that last paragraph). Not to worry, your brain will plump back up a few months after delivery.
 
What you need to know about forgetfulness during pregnancy: First of all, pregnancy forgetfulness is completely normal β€” and extremely common. It’s also temporary β€” you’ll have total recall again long before you start to have your “senior moments.” And try not to be too hard on yourself, as stress will only cloud your pregnancy brain even more. 

OK. Now that the facts are out there, here’s how my morning has gone so far.

Wake up at 7am with plans to go workout.
I get a brilliant idea to go start my car and let it warm up while I eat breakfast. (I HATE a cold car ride).
As I’m eating my breakfast, I notice a pain in my left ear.
As I chew more, I realize it really hurts!
Yawning even caused a super sharp pain.
I’m now worrying that I have an ear infection.
I call my sister and my mom for second opinions.
Both are sympathetic and advise calling the doc if it hurts more.
I decide not to go workout and see how this ear thing pans out.
I shower and get ready for work. 

Later on, my ear starts hurting a bit more.
I decide to call doctor.
Can’t find my phone anywhere. After a 5 minute, room-to-room hunt all over my house, I finally find it in the kitchen. 
I call doctor.
Told to go on Sudafed and Tylenol and call if it gets worse.

I start to pack up my things and am hit with a panicked thought, “I NEVER TURNED OFF MY CAR!!”
Oh my dear goodness. Who am I?? I’m absolutely in awe of my forgetfulness.

I sprint out to the garage (thank goodness I thought to at least open the garage door when I originally turned on my car), turn off my car, come back in, sheepishly tell Austin what I had done. He points out that it had been close to two hours since I had started it. Yes. Two hours. Salt in the wound.

I begin to have an identity crisis because I never do things like this! What is wrong with me!?

Feeling very flustered, I grab my bag to go to work and realize my phone isn’t in there. I have to go for ANOTHER hunt all around my house. I couldn’t find that stinking thing.

Finally, I tracked it down in our guest bathroom where I had been earlier to look for Tylenol. Why I left it in there, I have no idea.

Needless to say, this day has not started out very strong. I’m blaming it on the “Pregnancy Brain.”

5 thoughts on “>"Pregnancy Brain"

  1. >Hopefully it doesn't get any worse! I've been having the same problems lately, I went down the same aisle at the grocery store 3 times last night, for the SAME item. At least it's over before the baby gets here, or you may forget them too!

  2. >yep. i remember those days. i actually don't have a coat because of pregnancy brain. i lost a brand new north face coat during my pregnancy brain days πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

