>My Thoughts on Etsy

>

If you’ve visited my blog, you probably know I have an Etsy site. I started it up a few months ago and named it Pollywog’s Place. So far, I have kept it somewhat stocked with goodies.

When I started Pollywog’s Place I was working hard to make sure I kept it fully stocked with new things. If I found something that sold, I would make more. It was fun to see that people would actually pay for things I made!

However, I quickly realized that making the same thing gets a little boring.  For example, I made these casserole carriers. They were quite a hit. I’ve had multiple people tell me they’d buy one. I cranked out about 10 of these puppies within a few weeks. (there are still 3 for sale in my shop if you want to snatch them up.)

Getting a little money in return kept me motivated for a while but I realized that sewing was starting to become more work than play for me. I felt obligated to make things in order to sell them rather than to make things for the fun of it.

While Etsy is a GREAT thing that I will probably take more advantage of in the future, I think I am going to take a step back and relieve myself of the pressure of keeping a stocked shop.

I love sewing and crafting and I want to keep it that way. It’s so interesting to me that when you start doing something for money instead of genuine desire, your attitude changes. I want the freedom to try new things and be creative rather than spending my free time making the same thing over and over.

Anyway, just wanted to share some recent thoughts on the whole Etsy thing.
I’m sure there are others who can relate.

2 thoughts on “>My Thoughts on Etsy

  1. >This is really interesting to me! I have wanted to have my mom create etsy things and my friend who sews. I do not sew, but I have so many ideas and love to shop for fabrics and help. I wonder if an etsy Co-Op would be better… that way multiple people could bear the burden and share in the fun of keeping a store stocked… rather than feeling like its all up to YOU to keep it moving along!I like the idea of casserole carriers. I don't really make casseroles to carry around, but I can see a lot of people I know using this and loving it!Also: love your blog button links to the side!

  2. >Hi Polly,I really appreciate hearing your honest perspective of your etsy shop. I am seriously considering opening a shop and I'm hoping that it motivates me to sew more! I hadn't thought about it from a burnout perspective and this is definitely something to keep in mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

