>Fish Bone

>This weekend, I am flying solo. Austin is at a two night Veritas retreat (the ministry he works for). When I’m home alone, I take advantage of things that I can’t when he is here. Specifically in what I eat for meals. While I am completely satisfied with eating yogurt, granola, and fruit for dinner, Austin needs a little more substance.

Anyway, tonight I decided to try a new salmon recipe. It was called Maple Glazed Salmon with Pineapples. Since Austin doesn’t like pineapples (weird I know) I thought this was a perfect time to try it out.

The salmon I was eating was our wild Alaskan salmon we caught this summer. Maybe even the one I am holding in this picture.
Well, the thing with wild salmon is there are sometimes little skinny bones in it. We’ve learned to eat around them and pick them out.

I start eating away at my maple glazed salmon (it was delicious by the way.) As I’m chewing one bite, I noticed a bone in it. I try to dig it out but it slips away to the back of my throat. I pause…swallow…don’t feel anything…take another big bite to help it down…pause…don’t feel anything…declare myself “not choking” and move on.

A few minutes later, as I was cleaning up, I noticed a presence in my throat. I swallowed a few more times. Yep. Something is definitely there.

At first, I tell myself that it will work its way down. Just ignore it. You’ll be fine. Drink some water. Move on.

However, somehow my mind pulls up a memory of a Rescue 911 episode where a girl unknowingly swallowed a bone and 30 minutes later was choking on it because it wouldn’t go down her throat.

My mind keeps stirring…

“I’m home alone…”
“What if I passed out?”
“No one would find me for 3 days…”
“Should I call someone?”
“Polly, it’s just a fish bone. You’re not going to die.”
“I bet that’s what the chick on Rescue 911 thought too…”

So, like any person seeking medical information does, I went to the Internet. Surprisingly, what I found calmed me down rather than sending me on a one way trip to the ER.

“If you believe you have a fish bone stuck in your throat, and coughing does not dislodge the bone, you may try bread and almond/peanut butter.  If the bone can be dislodged without medical intervention the thick glob of bread and nut butter will do it.  The sensation of “a bone stuck in your throat” may persist for several days after the actual object has been dislodged due to irritation of the esophagus.”

Peanut butter? I can do that?
I dig out a big spoon full, grab some pretzels, and give myself an excuse to chow down on a post dinner snack.

I didn’t necessarily feel a dislodging but I felt safer imagining the sticky peanut butter going down my esophagus and taking anything and everything with it. 

So here I am, on the couch, accompanied by four-yes-four dogs (I’m dogsitting two of my sisters dogs) and fighting to believe there is nothing still in my throat. I’m sure I’m fine. It’s just crazy how fast your mind can run when you feel threatened.

I thought I’d just share this little humorous story. I’m sure any young girl can relate. I might just have to go get some ice cream… just to make sure it went all the way down šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “>Fish Bone

  1. >How funny! Reminds me of when I was pregnant with my first and my husband was traveling alot. I seriously didn't eat grapes for 9 months because I was afaid I would choke on them while home alone.

Leave a Reply

