>Coffee Sleeves… Literally

>

Do you know about felting wool?
I didn’t until a few days ago. Now I can’t get enough of it. 
Basically, you wash a wool sweater/scarf/skirt/etc. in hot water, rinse it in cold water, dry it on high heat. Repeat if necessary. 
It shrinks up the wool to a felt-like material.
With this new idea, I swung by Goodwill to see if I could find any wool sweaters. It was actually harder than I thought. I guess it’s not quite sweater season yet. After searching the racks, I ended up finding two that might work. 
I washed and dried them. They for sure shrunk up! I began chopping up the usable pieces. Confession: I really enjoyed chopping up the sweater. I might be cutting up more clothes in the future.
To cut them into the correct size, I simply used a coffee cup as my template. It doesn’t have to be exact since the sleeve is supposed to be snug. 
 After cutting the strips, I sewed one seam down the back and got to decorating! This part was fun. Here are some of the finished products. 

Want to see more?
Want one for yourself or your coffee loving friend?
Visit my Etsy Shop!
4 thoughts on “>Coffee Sleeves… Literally

  1. >Those are really cute! As for my blog header, I can take no credit, unfortunately. It's funny that you complimented it the very day I thought to change it. Maybe I won't now, haha. Anyway, I got the design from this website: http://www.simplyfabulousbloggertemplates.com/. I really love her designs. I think she does custom stuff for a fee, but I'm not quite sure how much she charges. I've made some tweaks to the html code for mine, but the header and color scheme was all from that site. Good luck redesigning your blog!

Leave a Reply

