>Greetings From Alaska!

>

 In case you didn’t know, I’m currently in Alaska. It’s been a great trip so far. The trip here was really long- especially since it was only half a day after I returned form Colorado.
Despite my exhaustion, we made it smoothly.
A common question I get from people is, where in Alaska are you staying? It’s a funny question because 90% of people only know two cities in Alaska: Anchorage and Jeuno.
Well, I’m in neither of these places. We are in a small town called, Soldotna. Here is where it is in this huge state.
 We are on the Kenai Peninsula and staying in a house right on the river.
 It’s been super relaxing. Almost to the point where I am feeling antsy for a purpose other than fishing or eating. I could go for a jog but I run the risk of getting mauled by a moose or possibly a bear. So the combination of not working out and sitting around all day (with no Internet, I might add) leaves me a bit antsy.
I have little to complain about though. My dad has done a fabulous job planning the trip. Alaska is HUGE. Everything about it is HUGE. Yesterday during a plane ride over a glacier, I told Austin that we were seeing God’s glory manifested in nature. It’s so beautiful here. I can’t take it all in. 
To give you some perspective on how big this state is, look at it compared to the US. Crazy.
Now for some pics.
On our way in, we saw this moose on the side of the road. It was a nice welcoming. Little known fact: Moose kill more humans than bears do in Alaska. Stay away from these “sad-looking-horses.”
We got to our house, unpacked, picked up a fishing pole, and headed to the river. Here is Austin is getting his first fishing lesson from Papa Gary. He picked it up pretty fast.
The next day, we had a fly-in salmon fishing trip.
All geared up….

  We got to take one of those water planes to a place that no roads can get to. We got a little freaked out when we saw that we were landing on a river. I kept telling myself that these pilots do this every day. 

After the plane landed, we hopped on boat and took off for some salmon fishing destinations. 

 Those ugly waders come in handy. Waterproof and warm.
Almost everywhere we went on this trip we saw bear prints. This one in particular was a HUGE bear. This is Austin’s size 11 boot next to the bear print. I would not want to encounter this guy.
Here’s the crew. From left to right: Janny, Will, Gary, Austin, Polly. Everyone caught at least one salmon. My mom and dad caught 3 each. Well, done parents!
Throughout our entire trip, Will has been wearing this coonskin hat the entire time. I’ll be honest, I’m slightly embarrassed to be with him in public places. He gets lots of strange looks wherever we go. He doesn’t seem to mind.
 The next day, we dragged ourselves out of bed at 3:30am to go halibut fishing. We joined captain Bob and headed 38 miles out into the ocean.
 I made the first catch of the day. But it wasn’t a halibut.
It was a shark!
 It was really small and we ended up catching a lot of those throughout the day. Captain Bob wasn’t happy about that.
Here’s me in my HUGE blue rain suit. It’s actually not mine but I was thankful for it that day.
By the end of the day, we had all caught our limit: 2 halibut each. Wahoo! It totaled 113 pounds total. That’s a lot of halibut to eat.
We got home exhausted and all went to bed around 9:00pm. Today is a rainy day so we are just taking it easy.
Another point worth mentioning is that it never gets dark here! It is light outside ALL the time. Between midnight and 3am it looks like dusk, but other than that it always looks like noon. It is a bit hard to get used to. 
Anyway, that’s all I got for now. More Alaskan updates to come…!
2 thoughts on “>Greetings From Alaska!

Leave a Reply

