>Another Mirror Makeover

>

“Another mirror?!” My husband exclaimed when he discovered this in our back room. 
Woops. He wasn’t supposed to see that yet.
 “It was only $5.00…”I sheepishly responded.

I’ve been wanting to give glazing a shot after I saw it on the blog, All Things Thrifty.  So when I saw this mirror in Goodwill, it was practically screaming at me…begging me to buy it. I couldn’t say no.
Pretty ugly, yes?
Not for long, my friends.
I began its makeover by a douse spray primer. I accidentally got my hand in the process. (It’s still on there even a day later as I write this…ugh)

After primer was dry, I gave it a layer of turquoise/blue spray paint.
I think my excited energy was making the dogs nervous. Cooper (my sister’s dog) decided to chew the top off of Sophie’s tennis ball flinger.
Sophie was pissed.
After I helped reconcile their relationship, I went back to the mirror project. 
Glaze time.
I don’t know much about glaze. I have no idea what it is used for, how to apply it, how not to apply it, etc. I simply was going off of the blog I had read. I went to Lowe’s and asked them to tint it black (like my blog instructions told me to do). They were curious about what project I was up to (I guess asking them to tint glaze black was a first). I tried to explain my vision but got blank looks in return. Oh well.

With a paint brush, I applied the glaze.
I then got a wet rag and wiped it off. This leaves the glaze in all the little nooks and crannies. 
After applying the glaze all over, wiping it all down, having a temper tantrum when Cooper stepped on the mirror, and then apologizing to Cooper for my behavior, it was done. 
Pretty cool, huh?!
Here’s a closer look at the detail.
  The only question now is, what do I do with the mirror??
9 thoughts on “>Another Mirror Makeover

  1. >I am just visiting your blog from the "Thrifty" link, but I just had to tell you that I got the same blank stare look when I went and got my glaze! I haven't had a chance to use mine yet, but I hope it turns out as nice as yours. Good Job!

  2. >I think you should donate it to my garage sale so that Mary can buy it :)…oh wait, you did already. thanks! I want to try the glazing. Im getting inspired.

Leave a Reply

