>Chair Change

>

I went to 3 garage sales this morning and came back with a loot!
Don’t worry, I have elaborate plans for all these items.Lets start with those brown and green chairs, shall we?
A closer look…
Yuck.

BUT they were only $3.00 each! My plan was to redo them and sell them on Craig’s List. Here’s how the story goes…

The process started with a major sanding down. There was lots of peeling paint coming off so I made them nice and smooth. They also were a little unstable so I tightened the screws and glued together some of the joints.
Prime-Time!
I’m lovin the Krylon spray primer. While the primer was drying, I went to work on those seats. I was very indecisive about the fabric. After verbally deliberating for a while, Austin’s expert decorating advice to me was, “Do something Springy… that’s what people are wanting right now.”

So I went with some of the flowery fabric that I picked up for $.50 at one of the sales and stapled it on. It’s kinda like wrapping a present- just a little noisier.
I then put on a coat of white paint and waited another 30 minutes for it to dry.
I sanded down the edges to give it a vintage-country look.
Sprayed on some top coat to give it some protection and shine
Drum-roll please…..

How cute are these!Like I said, I intended to sell them on Craig’s list a make a little profit but I have a problem…
I like them too much!
They go great in a little spot in our reading room.


I don’t think these chairs are going anywhere for a while.

Before

After






15 thoughts on “>Chair Change

  1. >Those are beautiful!! Nice find – I can't wait to go garage sale-ing tomorrow! I found you from New Friend Friday – check out my blog if you have a chance!

  2. >Great finds. You chairs turned out lovely. I have been waiting all winter for the first garage sales and today was the day. Unfortunately I went to bed with a fever/cough/aches and pains and couldn't even venture out today to the garage sale across the street. Bummer. My youngest said he would go for me. He insisted he knows what I like. Too funny.

  3. >Hi there! I found you from your swap with HOH and I stopped in my tracks when I saw these chairs!! A friend of mine GAVE me 4 chairs identical to these! She was cleaning out her mother's house & thought I could do something cute with them, but I have yet to do anything & here they sit. You did a FABULOUS job on them, I don't blame you for wanting to keep them :)Thanks for the inspiration!!Blessings,Ginnie

Leave a Reply

