>My Twelve Dollar Beauty

>

I found this little guy at a flea market a few weeks ago. $12.00-wahoo! I have been trying to figure out what the heck I wanted to do with it until I stumbled across this blog.
Finally- some inspiration!

Bless its heart.Step One:

Get-out-a-here doors. The inside of this guy has way too much potential for those doors to stay on.

Step Two:
Sand this puppy down. Thank you Gary Drover for the sander. You have saved my forearm muscles from soreness.

Step Three:
Spray paint. 2-3 coats. Wait and let dry. (Make sure to beat the rainstorm next time. No harm done though).

Step Four:
Sand again. I wanted the piece to have a lot of character so I sanded down the corners and edges. My husband made the comment, “That looks dirtier than it did before.” Yep. That’s the point.

Step Five:
Stain. Again, I wanted to make it have some character. So one technique I saw online was to wipe some stain on top of the paint, and then wipe it off with a clean rag, leaving some of the stain behind. I have never done this before so I was really hoping I wouldn’t ruin my $12 beauty. Time would only tell. I put on a few coats of this as well. I stained the inside heavier than the outside to give it a little personality.

Step Six:
I put a layer of “Enamel” over the entire thing. This protects it as well as gives it a little shine.

Finally, my little $12 beauty is finished!

I have turned it into a storage unit for all of our picture albums and bigger books that don’t fit in the bookshelves we have. Pretty cute, eh?

5 thoughts on “>My Twelve Dollar Beauty

Leave a Reply

