>Amazing Book

>

My view of poverty will never be the same.
If you know me, you know that I have gone on more than enough mission trips to Harmons, Jamaica. Almost once a year for the past 8 years, I have either been part of or led a group of people to this poor community to serve and love on the poor. The organization “Won by One” hosts teams of people to serve and love the community by building houses, helping teach in schools, repairing homes, and more.

Since we are taking a group of parents and students to Harmons this summer, I was advised to read the book, When Helping Hurts.

Anyone who is working towards poverty alleviation, social justice, mercy ministry or whatever you want to call it, should have their nose in this book. I won’t summarize it for you simply put I’m learning:

  • Just because we have money doesn’t mean we know how to fix poverty
  • Giving relief money to impoverished communities often hurts the people more than helps
  • Spiritually speaking, we are just as “poor” as they are
  • Rather than giving money towards relief, we should give money towards rehabilitation and development in the community

There is so much more I wish I could explain. I encourage anyone with a slight interest in social justice or helping the poor to read this book.

Leave a Reply

